The Shelf

Left on the shelf
A vittle for consumption
Only at my best
Before the rot has set in
Get me when I’m fresh
In my prime
Before my edges have started to fray
Before the shine is off the apple
Get me while I’m hot
Eat me
Consume me
Swallow me whole
Until all traces are gone
Lick your lips and wipe the dribble from your chin
Head back to my shelf and take another
And another
Always hungry
Never sated

This entry was posted in feminism, patriachy, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

